Book Recommendations: Wings of Fire Read-Alikes

January’s Book Scouts was exciting for me, as a fan of the Wings of Fire series myself! I found lots of books and series that sound promising for avid readers that are wanting more dragons! If you have any other recommendations, please share down below in the comments!

Very quickly, I want to address why I include picture book recommendations in these lists when, admittedly, sometimes they are a stretch as a “read-alike.” A lot of the kiddos that attend my Book Scouts program have younger siblings, and so I find that if I recommend younger picture books, most of the time they will pick one or two to share with them, which is incredibly heartwarming to me. Also, some of the attendees still really appreciate a good picture book on their own even if they are reading chapter books, so I like to have a variety. I find that picture books can sometimes provide a little levity for heavier subjects, which some kids really need. Picture books and graphic novels are also great confidence builders for children who may struggle to read a chapter book on their own. They can choose an option that they can read independently alongside something they may need an adult to read with them. There are a lot of great reasons to include picture book “read alikes” but these are just a few that affect my choices.

Picture Books

Dragon Was Terrible by Kelly DiPucchio
Zog (series) by Julia Donaldson
There’s a Dragon in Your Book! by Tom Fletcher
Spark (series) by Kallie George
Sloppy (series) by Sean Julian
Baby Dragon, Baby Dragon! by Melissa Marr
Fergal and the Bad Temper by Robert Starling
The Dragon and the Nibblesome Knight by Elli Woollard

Chapter Books & Graphic Novels

Tales from the Chocolate Heart (series) by Stephanie Burgis
Rise of the Dragon Moon by Gabrielle Byrne
Spark by Sarah Beth Durst
The Last Dragon Chronicles (series) by Chris D’Lacey
Dragons in a Bag by Zetta Elliott
Dragon Keepers (series) by Kate Klimo
Trelian (series) by Michelle Knudsen
Ivy (series) by Dawn Lairamore
Dragonwatch (series) by Brandon Mull
The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill
Dragonfell by Sarah Prineas
Pillage (series) by Obert Skye
Henry and the Chalk Dragon by Jennifer Trafton
Dragon Masters (series) by Tracey West
The Language of Spells by Garret Weyr
A Dragon’s Guide (series) by Laurence Yep

Non-fiction

The Truth About Dragons by Rhoda Blumberg
The Truth About Dragons by Thomas Kingsley Troupe
Behind the Legend: Dragons by Erin Peabody
A Practical Guide to Dragons by Lisa Trumbauer

Bonus pick: I limit these lists to what we have available in our collection so that when I share it with the kids, they can see what we have on hand. However, I do want to add a title that I think has huge kid appeal and that is Dragons vs. Drones by Wesley King. Is it life-changing literature? Definitely not. Is it great fun that kids will love? Absolutely. I think this series would also be a great recommendation for fans of Wings of Fire who are itching for more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s