Book Recommendations: I Survived Read-Alikes

Last month’s Book Scouts theme was another one outside of my normal realm of preferred reading. I did some digging, and I think I unearthed some titles fit for fans of Lauren Tarshis’s series that are hungry for more. I certainly found several non-fiction titles that I’d like to check out!

Picture Books

Pup and Bear by Kate Banks
The Fox and the Wild by Clive McFarland

Chapter Books

The Wolf’s Boy by Susan Williams Beckhorn
Island War by Patricia Reilly Giff
Refugee by Alan Gratz
The Trail by Meika Hashimoto
Lifeboat 12 by Susan Hood
Disaster Strikes (series) by Marlane Kennedy
Big Red (series) by Jim Kjelgaard
Dive (series) by Gordon Korman
Everest (series) by Gordon Korman
Island (series) by Gordon Korman
Titanic (series) by Gordon Korman
Lily’s Mountain by Hannah Moderow
Surrounded by Sharks by Michael Northrop
A Wolf Called Wander by Rosanne Parry
The Big Dark by Rodman Philbrick
Zane and the Hurricane by Rodman Philbrick
The Courage Test by James Preller
The Explorer by Katherine Rundell
Hear the Wolves by Victoria Scott
Escape from Aleppo by N.H. Senzai
Stolen Girl by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch
The War Below by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch
The Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman

Non-Fiction

The Great American Dust Bowl by Don Brown
Lost Trail: Nine Days Alone in the Wilderness by Donn Fendler
Saved by the Boats: The Heroic Sea Evacuation of September 11 by Julie Gassman
Disasters: Natural and Man-Made Catastrophes Through the Centuries by Brenda Guiberson
Floodwaters and Flames: The 1913 Disaster in Dayton, Ohio by Lois Miner Huey
In Harm’s Way: JFK, World War II, and the Heroic Rescue of PT 109 by Iain Martin
Slammed by Tsunamis by Caitie McAneney
Torpedoed!: A World War II Story of a Sinking Passenger Ship and Two Children’s Survival at Sea by Cheryl Mullenbach
Top 10 Worst Floods by Louise Spilsbury
Capsized!: The Forgotten Story of the SS Eastland Disaster by Patricia Sutton

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s